Do you make good use of the different lead/rhythm guitar paths?

Shroud

Question

This is not a technical question, but just a curiosity about how do you all feel about Rocksmith having a distinction between lead and rhythm guitar. Note that I mostly use Rocksmith with the bass actually 😄 but as a long-time guitarist I have always found the "lead vs rhythm" distinction bogus. I didn't go to "lead guitar" lessons when I was young, I went to just guitar lessons. As a guitar student, you study pretty much everything, and everything is just guitar.

The distinction is in my opinion a relic of certain old rock bands, but it kicks in only if you happen to join a band where there is more than a guitarist, and (in the good cases) the two or more guitarists decide to split responsibilities or (in the bad cases) social pressure within the band force the supposedly least skilled/experienced guitarist to avoid solos.

Anyway, going back to Rocksmith, I don't think it was a great idea to separate lead and rhythm paths. It's confusing at best, and teaching a bad concept at worse. There's plenty of songs with a single guitar track, but it could be anything, including strumming chords or riffing rhythms. Conversely, there's another plenty of songs with multiple guitar tracks, but where neither has a solo (supposedly a feature that qualifies it as "lead"), or where both tracks have a solo... especially in the heavy metal genre, there's bands with two or three guitarists taking turns to solo within the same song, would you expect all the solos to be condensed in the same lead path (sometimes impossible when the solos overlap) or would you expect each path to wholly cover a separate guitar track in the original song? Either way, confusing... many ways what you find in one path is not what you would expect.