Complete beginner..should I start on rhythm path first?

fenrirwulf

Hey All,

Just want to say what an awesome site this is!! I think I must have downloaded over 300 songs. I know I'll be very busy for a loooong time. With that said, what would be the recommendation for a true beginner to start out on Rocksmith? I know about 4-5 chords fairly well. I haven't really had a lot of time to practice and play since I got my guitar and RS last x-mas. I plan to change that soon. So, for a beginner do you recommend that I start playing rhythm to start and get the basics down, or can I still learn enough if I choose Lead? I'm finding the lack of a guided system to be a bit frustrating. I think I would learn better with some structure and laid out lesson plans rather than just going into several directions all at once. I find some of the recommendations that RS tells me to do a bit confusing with no explanation on how to do them. I wish Ubisoft had made a detailed guide on how to do some things in this game and put it in the box. It would be helpful to have had a legend key explaining what some of the symbols mean when playing a song too. I'm starting to wonder if I should invest in a site like Guitartricks or Jamplay to get some lessons outside of RS and then when I get some fundamentals down, come back and play around with the game? Just curious what the opinions of some of you might be?

• Administrator

First off go through the lessons in RS at least once even you don't get all of them at 100%.

Then just practice on official songs and by letting DD do his work to slowly ramp up the difficulty instead of trying to climb a giant fucking wall all at once.

The recommandations are not exactly the best thing to follow especcially when you have custom since RS doesn't handle the customs well difficulty wise since RS rely on the DD to evaluate difficulty.