PC Toolkit on Mac (via Wine)

Hey all fellow Mac users and aspiring guitarists!

I've gotten the PC version of the CDLC toolkit running on OSX by using Wineskin to package it. It's now essentially a native OSX app, but without all the headaches of installing Mono, X11, and whatever else. 

I've only used it to convert CDLC from PC to Mac versions, and that definitely works.

I'm not sure what else I can add or test, since most of the tools to create CDLC are absolutely PC-only.

I would greatly appreciate other Mac users giving it a try. I've never done this before, and it's taken a lot of trial and error to get this far.

You can download it from my Dropbox to check it out. I won't be offended by reports of bugs, crashes, etc. It shouldn't destroy your system (AFAIK).

The only bad news is the size. Unzipped, the app weighs in at about 1.3GB. I suppose that's what happens when you have to stuff all that Windows junk into a single package. Regardless, it's still faster and easier than launching Parallels just to convert some songs.

So, please - give it a try and report back with any feedback. If it's a fiasco, we'll just pretend this never happened, okay?  :huh:

-Dito

• Like 1

Why not just run it with Mono?  It works absolutely fine with Mono 3.4 and doesn't take up 1+ GB of space.

It also sounds like you had a harder time getting it to work with Wine than you would have with Mono.

Well, sure, I could have just used the Mono version, but that's no fun. I like nerd challenges. What can I say?

The time I spent doesn't really matter. I would have just spent it on a different nerd challenge.

I keep seeing threads about people having problems running the tools on Mac, so I thought I'd throw in a little bit of effort. Ah well. 

Sorry, not re-replying just for the sake of a bump.