Are B.C. Rich guitars really worth the bad rep they get?

Huumetucca

I was just chuckling away at this parody on YouTube: "Things beginner guitarists say" - Jared Dines but when he got to "praising" B.C. Rich I found that a bit weird and googled up about that, and seems that they're getting some bad rep out there. Now the reason I'm asking is that I found one locally (Korean made), for quite cheap as apparently it need some little maintenance, and while I haven't still seen it now I'm not that sure if I even should.

I understand that the "edgy" look might not be for some, but then again I don't like Les Paul's either (oh yes, I just went there) so that's not really what I care about, but I've read that the overall build quality is a bit so-so. Now I'm still a very beginner so I'm not looking for a high end guitar by any means, just something to keep in Eb or so for those metal songs that I play, so that I don't have the need to constantly re-tune.

I read that the pickups are quite shitty, but I guess that would be a great way to learn to change them as well. I can solder, just don't have the tools currently and haven't done it in years, but I'm pretty sure I could get that done anyway.

Do you think that a Warlock would be worth it, or should I just scrape the idea in full and take a look at other stuff that's available?

• 1 month later...

I know this is almost one month old, but if you are still wondering about these guitars I can tell you my personal experience with my Mockingbird:

-Pickups sound great for me (despite my punk rock tastes) they sound really warm with clean tones but their strongest point are the distorted tones, totally metal-ish. (Really don't know what people consider "good pick-ups", the ones that cost over $1000?)  

-Only prob is that the body is too heavy and the guitar tends to slide forward. 

• Administrator