Hello, I must be going... (newcomer's questions)

Shroud

Question

Hello all, I am new to RockSmith, in fact I haven't even started yet... and I already have questions 🙂 

First of all a small self-introduction. I am coming from RockBand3, and I've been thinking about adding RockSmith to our family musical hobbies for a while, since guitar and bass have always been the weakness of RockBand games. With Christmas approaching, now might be a good time to bring RockSmith up as a present to my kids. I am trying to decide about a couple of things...

1) First of all, I am undecided between getting RS2014 for PC or for PS3. I've read the tutorial for using customs, and it seems really easy on the PC and only a bit more complicated on the PS3, as there are tools for conversion. I am aware that the PS3 must be "jailbroken". Do RS customs need only to be COPIED to the PS3 or do they also need to be encrypted, or is necesary to mess up with "rap" files? We already have HEN on our PS3 because of RockBand3 customs, and all that is needed for them is just to copy the files under the proper folder. Is there any particular reason to prefer the PS3?

2) If I get it for PC, is it better to buy it off Steam or in DVD format? Generally speaking I prefer buying physical copies, and second-hand ones if possible. Do the RS DVD work second-hand or do they have some one-time code that binds them to an account? However, if it is necessary to buy "Cherub Rock" from Steam for customs, I might as well just buy the games from Steam as well. Does it make a difference for using customs if I get the "remastered" version, or does it need to be the basic one?