How do you re-string your guitar?

Collision

I'm about to re-string my guitar for the first time and as a beginner I was going to follow the video that is in Rocksmith 2014.  However, after looking on youtube there seems to be more than one way to re-string a guitar!

So my question is how do you do yours?  If possible an instructional video would be welcomed :)

Thanks.

I go one by one in order...

Take one out, replace it with the new, and tune the new one - then move to the next. at the end re-tune the guitar.

Please note that if you remove all the strings at once, you may need to tune the neck (via the truss rode), but no real damage should occur - I personally never remove all the strings (lesson a learned from an old guitar I had where the truss was actually at the base of the neck, and it was a MAJOR pain)

Depends a lot on the type of guitar you have.  The way the do it in the video on the game is basically the way I do it as well.  I usually replace them all at once.

If your guitar has a Floyd Rose and your switching string gauge or tunings its such a pain to restring.  But if you just have the fender style bridge or the stop bar style bridge as on a Les Paul its a lot quicker and totally easy.

My advice for you is to not have more that 3 windings on the big strings and 5 or 6 on the smaller ones.  And make sure to cut off the excess AFTER you put the string on and wind it.  Nothing sucks more than having to throw a brand new string away for that reason but you'll only ever do it once hah.

Also invest in a string winder.  They are really cheap (under $5) and make replacing strings a lot faster.

I wouldn't worry about the truss rod. If you're using the same string guage, the new strings will bring it right back in place. Only adjust the truss rod if you're moving to much heavier (or lighter) strings or you've moved the guitar to a different part of the country/world.