Jump to content

Welcome to CustomsForge Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

Learn & Play Rocksmith!

Want to play the songs you love? Registration and the use of this website is 100% free.
The only thing you need is a legal copy of Rocksmith 2014 w/ a cable. Click here to buy it.
 
Having trouble logging in or registering? Please click "Support" below.



Photo

Latest EOF releases (6-12-2019)

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2545 replies to this topic

#1181
Offline   PC Plum

PC Plum

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,012 posts
  • 826 thanks
  • Location:Edinburgh

 

The issue is that EOF wants you to define the end position of slides as the lowest used fret instead of the lowest fretted string (ie. the unpitched slide in question should end at fret 6 instead of fret 8).

 

Is this a recent change in EoF?

 

Like I said I loaded up that exact EoF file using 1409 and it exported the XML exactly as I had intended it to look in game.  I have always used the lowest (thickest) string as the slide fret variable and it's always worked fine.

 

Furthermore, in that example EoF simply won't let you author the slide to fret 6, as it sees it as a slide from fret 6 to fret 6 and gives you a warning - and subsequent 255 error.

 

I'm not at a pc with EoF just now, I can maybe have a play around tonight - like always it's probably me being a dill :D

 

 

I just think it's strange that I can author this

 

https://drive.google...xUEE/view?pli=1

 

in 1409 with my eyes closed, but in recent EoFs I am scratching my head, trouble shooting, getting errors and struggling really.

 

How would you author that in EoF?



#1182
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
It's been the intended logic, but now it's more obvious and enforced. I think it makes the most sense and that more people would interpret a "slide to fret #" instruction that way. Either way I had to pick one or the other because down slides have to be bounds checked for 0 and so on.

The slide to fret 6 is regarding the slide at 10:17.785 in the "Stairway Revisited" project file you posted (8_10 to 6_8).

About your screen capture, it's probably doable with a double stop that pitched slides and links to another double stop, the latter one with an unpitched slide down. If you author the fingering to use the index finger on both double stops, the FHP generation will place a position change at the end of the pitched slide (or you can manually set the FHP there).

#1183
Offline   PC Plum

PC Plum

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,012 posts
  • 826 thanks
  • Location:Edinburgh

Just tried 9-15-2015 and it seems to be working e.g. making

 

3\5    (e)

5\7    (B )

5\7    (G)

 

in 1436 was pretty impossible as you had the lowest fret logic on export but with the old style warning "must slide to higher fret", you could not author that as a slide to 5.

 

But in 9/15/2015 it is possible.

 

 

I can bash on with 9-15-2015 for new projects from scratch, but I think loading up an old project in 9-15-2015 and saving (where there are chord slides authored in old money) could have horrible consequences.  I'm sure I'll have a "doh" sooner or later :D



#1184
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
I can probably add a check that would warn if slides were considered to have invalid end positions, but that wouldn't be able to warn about slides that are valid but not necessarily set to behave the way the author intends.

#1185
Offline   Tysylio

Tysylio

    Touring Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • 60 thanks
  • Location:Toronto, CA

Wait... what?  When did this become possible?  I just updated to  9-15-2015 from 1436.

 

Wait%20what.JPG

 

Was this on purpose?  I'm just asking in case it was an accident.  But if not, what is the intended use? an un-strummed pre-slide? or???  Does RS support this? :unsure:

 

I was used to pulling back on my wheel to ensure I didn't have any unwanted note trails, and woah!


Keep smiling. It makes people wonder what you've been up to.

See my Workshop here.


#1186
Offline   Tysylio

Tysylio

    Touring Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • 60 thanks
  • Location:Toronto, CA

So, I don't know what I did last night, but I can't seem to make it do it again.  I'll let you know any details as I discover them.


Keep smiling. It makes people wonder what you've been up to.

See my Workshop here.


#1187
Offline   albatross213

albatross213

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,786 posts
  • 441 thanks
  • Location:New Jersey

Donator

I'm going through some of my hold songs and trying to fix the hand positions during some of the tapping sections. As some of the tapping sections are quite prolong and deleting the generated FHP there manually is time consuming (and generating FHP manually across the entire track looks even less appetizing), I'm looking for a way to delete across a large swath of notes all at once. Is there a way to do this? I tried shift-clicking in the FHP list and the didn't seem to work.

 

Alternatively, would there be a way to set up a region that gets "protected" during FHP generation, so I could set the FHP in there, the rest of the track would be considered to have no FHP, and when generating FHP that region doesn't get overwritten?


My CDLC releases and my workshop 
My CDLC previews (Lots of bass only stuff)
Join us at the Rocksmith Championship!


#1188
Offline   Berneer

Berneer

    Touring Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • 52 thanks
  • Location:Montreal

Donator

I'm going through some of my hold songs and trying to fix the hand positions during some of the tapping sections. As some of the tapping sections are quite prolong and deleting the generated FHP there manually is time consuming (and generating FHP manually across the entire track looks even less appetizing), I'm looking for a way to delete across a large swath of notes all at once. Is there a way to do this? I tried shift-clicking in the FHP list and the didn't seem to work.
 
Alternatively, would there be a way to set up a region that gets "protected" during FHP generation, so I could set the FHP in there, the rest of the track would be considered to have no FHP, and when generating FHP that region doesn't get overwritten?


Upon Glen's request about 1.5 years ago raynebc added a special command in EoF that pretty much does what you describe. It is in the menus somewhere and being at work I cannot say exactly where but I think the command was SHIFT+DEL. I haven't used it in a while but check the Hotfixes around March,April 2014 and you'll find the proper descriptions of the feature.

"A dreamer is someone who wants beyond what is reasonable. A hero is a dreamer who cannot take no for an answer." (Martin Spina)

My Released CDLC - Blaze Bayley - Stare at the Sun & MacGyver Theme Song & Iron Maiden - No More Lies

Check out the Tech Notes Tutorial Version 1.1 // Chordify Tutorial release TBD.


#1189
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks

Wait... what? When did this become possible? I just updated to 9-15-2015 from 1436.

Wait%20what.JPG

Weird, I've never seen that happen. I'll try to add additional checks to prevent this, but if you find out how to reproduce it, let me know.

I'm looking for a way to delete across a large swath of notes all at once. Is there a way to do this?

There's not currently a way to do this, but I think I can add a menu function for it. Currently, "Note>Rocksmith>Generate FHPs" operates only on the portion of the chart covered by the selected time range of notes, so one to remove FHPs for selected time range of notes would compliment it pretty well.

Alternatively, would there be a way to set up a region that gets "protected" during FHP generation, so I could set the FHP in there, the rest of the track would be considered to have no FHP, and when generating FHP that region doesn't get overwritten?

This would take much more effort to add. A "protect" status for individual FHPs might not be too complicated, but I don't know if I have time to dedicate to that right now.

Upon Glen's request about 1.5 years ago raynebc added a special command in EoF that pretty much does what you describe. It is in the menus somewhere and being at work I cannot say exactly where but I think the command was SHIFT+DEL. I haven't used it in a while but check the Hotfixes around March,April 2014 and you'll find the proper descriptions of the feature.

I think you're referring to "Track>Rocksmith>Fret hand positions>Delete effective", which only deletes the FHP at the current seek position. I believe what albatross213 is looking for is a way to delete several FHPs all at once.

Thanked by 2 Members:

#1190
Offline   albatross213

albatross213

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,786 posts
  • 441 thanks
  • Location:New Jersey

Donator

 

There's not currently a way to do this, but I think I can add a menu function for it. Currently, "Note>Rocksmith>Generate FHPs" operates only on the portion of the chart covered by the selected time range of notes, so one to remove FHPs for selected time range of notes would compliment it pretty well.

Ah, I didn't know there was something under the Note menu for FHPs (I think I was looking near the stuff for fingering and didn't fully check all the way down).

 

So if I understand correctly, if I have a long tapping section in the middle of the song, I could select all the notes before it, Generate FHPs, then select all the notes after it, generate FHPS, and then manually input FHPs for the tapping section, right? If so, that would do the job quite well. It would be slightly more convenient to be able to remove FHPs over a selection, but only slightly.

 

Edit: Yeah, that makes it much easier. Thanks!


Edited by albatross213, 17 September 2015 - 06:33 PM.

My CDLC releases and my workshop 
My CDLC previews (Lots of bass only stuff)
Join us at the Rocksmith Championship!


#1191
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
That would work. It should be pretty trivial for me to make the function to remove FHPs for the selected range, so I'll add that.

#1192
Offline   Rockfirstlast

Rockfirstlast

    Hall of Fame Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,270 posts
  • 324 thanks

Wait... what?  When did this become possible?  I just updated to  9-15-2015 from 1436.

 

Wait%20what.JPG

 

Was this on purpose?  I'm just asking in case it was an accident.  But if not, what is the intended use? an un-strummed pre-slide? or???  Does RS support this? :unsure:

 

I was used to pulling back on my wheel to ensure I didn't have any unwanted note trails, and woah!

 

Found a way to reproduce it.

 

Create a note

Press h

Mouse scroll down



#1193
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
Thanks, I've fixed the negative length issue.

#1194
Offline   joe21121

joe21121

    Master Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • 195 thanks
  • Location:New Orleans Louisiana

after you create a note it don't get highlighted you haft to press the note to highlight it



#1195
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
I can't reproduce that in any input method. Would you please confirm what version of EOF you are using (as reported in Help>About)? Can you send me your eof.cfg file so I can test with your settings?

If you close EOF, rename eof.cfg and open EOF again, it will set all settings to default. If you do this to get all default settings, can you still recreate the issue? After you've done this test, you can close EOF, delete the new eof.cfg it created during close, and rename the original config file back to eof.cfg to restore your settings.

#1196
Offline   PC Plum

PC Plum

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,012 posts
  • 826 thanks
  • Location:Edinburgh

I'm finding some stuff with 9-15-2015.  I read before someone saying that new notes are not highlighted, well I can concur that this does happen.  Also, when it happens you can set new notes on existing notes tails, without the tails being chopped like previously

 

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

 

See at the 2.49 marker where I have created a new note on the tail of the existing note, with no linknexts or crazy status in sight.  I believe that this is the result if the fact it is not highlighted, as when highlights are "working" it chops the tail as per normal.

 

I cannot induce the fault when I please, just now its still a bit random.  But no doubt as I work on I will see a pattern.

 

 

Edit - when I erased the extra note and set a linknext, EoF did not attach the tail to the next note

 

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

 

probably related and hopefully helpful.

 

 

Good luck :D



#1197
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
I tried for a while, but I couldn't reproduce the issue where a newly placed note wouldn't be highlighted, regardless of whether it was placed at the edge of, on top of or away from existing notes. If anybody finds more specific ways to trigger this, please let me know. Perhaps only specific user preferences will trigger this, so if anybody can reproduce it with all default settings (ie. rename eof.cfg before opening EOF), it may help narrow down the scope of the problem.

#1198
Offline   PC Plum

PC Plum

    Guitar God

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,012 posts
  • 826 thanks
  • Location:Edinburgh

Could it be new notes 1ms i.e. no sustain?

 

Another clue is that when I loaded that up again (I saved when it started going pear shaped) some notes were missing - maybe the notes that I placed that weren't highlighted.  Dunno for sure.

 

I'll keep looking.



#1199
Offline   joe21121

joe21121

    Master Guitarist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • 195 thanks
  • Location:New Orleans Louisiana

when it create a note and put a slide ctrl + arrow key up or down it dont popup the set end fret



#1200
Offline   raynebc

raynebc

    Guitar God

  • Rocksmith Custom Developer

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts
  • 761 thanks
If Rocksmith export is not enabled, toggling on an up/down slide will not bring up the popup to set the end fret. If this is the case, you also won't get XML files when you save your project. If you go into File>Preferences and verify Rocksmith 1 and/or 2 export is enabled and it still doesn't prompt for the end fret, let me know and I'll investigate it some more. At that point I may need a copy of your current eof.cfg file so I can make sure EOF is reading it correctly.