Anyone using Rocksmith as a teaching tool?

emilierv

Question

Hi!

I am a student at the MA in Educational Technology and doing a bit of research on Rocksmith.

I was wondering if any of you are teaching students using Rocksmith, either official DLC or customs DLC? If so, how are you using it and how do you think it adds to what you would normally do? Also, how do you think Rocksmith could be further improved as a teaching tool?

Looking forward to your answers!

9 answers to this question

Just teaching myself. 

I don't know how it could be improved - but Rocksmith is lacking primarily in the way of feedback. You can easily hit the correct notes but do so in a way that forms terrible habits. On the flipside you can miss sections and have no idea how to correctly play it. There's also the lack of music theory but many people, myself included, don't care too much about that. Lack of direct feedback from someone with proper training is probably the biggest issue for me. Perhaps the next RS could feature some sort of in-game lesson system via skype. 

I've also noticed that RS can act as a crutch in learning songs - you really need to push yourself to play without the visual notes to learn a song. 

• Like 1

I would agree with @@kc_.  I find as soon as Rocksmith goes into Master Mode, I begin to make mistakes.  Except for a hand full of songs that I have really studied. So, yes the visual ques are a crutch, but on the flip side, I've never seen an orchestra without the music in front of each musician...  that said, if I was ever at a rock concert, and the band all had music in front of them, I'd probably point and laugh.

I do believe though, if I had the time (or maybe its the motivation) to get proper professional lessons, and supplement the exercises with the fun-ness of Rocksmith, I may be able to learn much faster.

Keep smiling. It makes people wonder what you've been up to.

See my Workshop here.